Leben und ich
[ . ]

I got myself through episodes of OCD, when I was around 12.
I can't remember how long it actually lasted.
I know today that I adopted and extended it, to have my own compulsive behaviour, without knowing what exactly I did.

At first I just did the usual stuff, even normal people do. When I left the house, I verified the electric kitchen stove (lucky me we didn't use gas!) is switched out, same for the coffee machine. OCD kicked in as I locked up the door. Locking it up, verifying it by unlock it, locking it up again, and then I did verify it again. At least three times, on the average five times, sometimes more. Luckily I want to be on time when going to school, so it didn't took forever.

I spoke out the things I saw aloud. Signs were my favorite. Doctor this, Lawyer that. I can remember an episode when I was on the way of driving my sibling completely nuts.

Further stuff I clearly adopted.

I didn't reflect on it. (I couldn't.) It just saw it's time consuming and that I was doomed to repeat certain stuff. I told myself "OK, let's assume the coffee machine is still switched on. What can happen at worst? The house could burn. [This was perfectly logical back then.] If it really happens, DARN - SO BE IT." Self-protection.

This is what got me through: ignorance of the consequences, which I know, were just made up anyway.

Trackback URL:
https://thoralf.twoday.net/stories/742804/modTrackback

Archiv

Juni 2005
Mo
Di
Mi
Do
Fr
Sa
So
 
 
 4 
 7 
 8 
10
14
15
16
17
21
28
30
 
 
 
 

Arbeit und ich
Buecher und ich
Computer und ich
Die WG und ich
Erste Male und ich
From another world
Funny stuff and me
Glauben und ich
Kino und ich
Leben und ich
Lernen und ich
Me, Myself and I
Sad things and me
Songs und ich
Strange things und ich
Tests und ich
... weitere
Profil
Abmelden
Weblog abonnieren